Skip to main content

The content of this website has been moved to, the state administration's main website published on 1 July 2019.
For more recent information visit

ETC 2014-2020

Interreg programmes in the 2014–2020 period


In the 2014-2020 period, EU cohesion policy is delivered within a simplified framework with two key goals, namely ‘Investment in Growth and Jobs’ and ‘European Territorial Cooperation’. The primary objective of this approach is to consolidate Cohesion Policy as the main investment strategy for Europe 2020: A Strategy for smart, sustainable and inclusive growth. The Europe 2020 Strategy is being delivered through creation of growth and jobs, climate change action, increase of energy security and reduction of poverty and social exclusion.  


The bulk of the funding is available in the framework of the operational programmes under the ‘Investment in Growth and Jobs’ goal implemented in individual Member States, and is targeted to address the identified development needs, existing disparities and growth potentials within national borders. These operational programmes seek to contribute to delivering on the national objectives, Europe 2020 Strategy objectives and objectives of the Territorial Agenda 2020. Unlike these programmes, European Territorial Cooperation represents a framework for implementation of joint actions and sharing of policy, experience, and knowledge between national, regional and local actors from different Member States in light of the increasing number of challenges facing Member States and European regions that go beyond national borders and demand a common response and action at the territorial level through coordination of sector policies. 


European Territorial Cooperation is built around three strands of cooperation: 

a) cross-border cooperation, known as Interreg A, supports cooperation between NUTS 3 regions from at least two different Member States, or a Member State and a third country sharing a land border or sea crossing with a view to tackling common challenges identified jointly in the border regions; 


b) transnational cooperation, known as Interreg B, involves regions from several countries (NUTS 2 level) of the EU forming bigger areas, and includes partners at the national, regional and local level to promote integrated territorial development, including through cooperation in the framework of macro-regional strategies and sea basin strategies;  


c) interregional cooperation, known as Interreg C, works at pan-European level, covering all EU Member States, Norway, Switzerland, and, in case of ESPON Programme also Iceland and Liechtenstein, in order to reinforce the effectiveness of EU Cohesion Policy.  


Slovenia and Interreg programmes in the 2014-2020 period

I. Cross-border programmes 


European Territorial Cooperation has an ERDF budget of nearly EUR 8.95 billion available in the 2014-2020 period, which accounts for 2.75% of the total budget earmarked for EU Cohesion Policy. The bulk of the funding, i.e. EUR 6.6 billion (74.5%) is set aside for cross-border programmes. The cross-border programmes in which Slovenia participates in the 2014-2020 period have received on average 26.98% less funding from the ERDF than in the previous period. 

Slovenia participates in four cross-border programmes: 

Cooperation Programme Interreg V-A Slovenia-Austria  (Managing Authority: GODC / Programme budget: EUR 57.2 million)


Cooperation Programme Interreg V-A Slovenia-Hungary (Managing Authority: GODC / Programme budget: EUR 18.6 million)


Cooperation Programme Interreg V-A Slovenia-Croatia (Managing Authority: GODC / Programme budget: EUR 55.7 million)


Cooperation Programme Interreg V-A Italy-Slovenia (Managing Authority: Autonomous Region Friuli Venezia Giulia / Programme budget: EUR 91.7 million)



II. Transnational programmes


The five transnational programmes of the 2014-2020 round of funding have a total available ERDF budget of EUR 827 million. Funding is awarded through transnational calls for proposals published by programme managing structures (joint secretariats on behalf of managing authorities), and on the basis of the selection decision by the monitoring committee which consists of the representatives of each participating country. Monitoring committee members are assisted by national coordinators during the selection of projects to be financed to ensure that the selected projects meet as much as possible the strategic orientations of participating countries.  


Slovenia participates in five transnational programmes:


Alpine Space                  Central Europe
















III. Interregional programmes


Interregional programmes seek to enhance the effectiveness of EU Cohesion Policy and European Territorial Cooperation through sharing and transfer of experience, dissemination of findings, collection of data and other actions. Managing authorities, joint secretariats and other programme managing structures are located outside Slovenia.

Interregional programmes have a budget of EUR 515 million available in this funding round. 

Slovenia participates in four interregional programmes:       



National Authority: GODC




National Authority: GODC







National Authority: Ministry of the Environment and Spatial Planning


ESPON 2020 


National Authority: Ministry of the Environment and Spatial Planning